mopatab.blogg.se

Chills brave words blogspot
Chills brave words blogspot





chills brave words blogspot

For now, I have to figure out what to do with those six other manuscripts…! Yikes! Only the publishing gods can figure that one out. And some other readers seem to be enjoying them as well! I hope to one day share them with more people, but that’s not for me to decide. But I’m glad that, at least, the book and characters have come back to me. I don’t know what the fate of ME & DEVIL BOY will be. Swoon Reads is an imprint of Macmillan where readers help select what gets published by commenting, rating, and sharing their favorite reads. I fixed up the manuscript and put it on a reading platform called Swoon Reads. Some parts I had forgotten, and other parts came alive again as though I’d never left. Six years later, I looked at ME & DEVIL BOY again. It was picked up by The Head & the Hand, a boutique publishing group in Philadelphia. I chopped it up-turned it into a short story.

chills brave words blogspot

I submitted the manuscript to one publishing house. When I write, my characters become like friends or children. I sobbed that my characters were gone, static, frozen. You know that saying, All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed? That’s what writing this book felt like. I usually don’t talk about my writing, mainly for fear that nothing will come of it. Perhaps it was my secret escape from the terrible job I had at the time. All I know is that I wrote the manuscript in a psychotic haste while listening to the soundtrack from Edward Scissorhands over and over and over again (please listen to this song. I wrote it in a flash of lightning on our floppy queen bed with the ratty green comforter, as Mike watched Jeopardy or read books or cracked up at dog videos on YouTube or whatever he did back then-I don’t remember. It’s where I wrote ME & DEVIL BOY-a love story about a thief girl with a warm heart and a magical boy who doesn’t speak. Our home in West Philadelphia was tiny, had a Victorian façade, and was cozy as a bird’s nest.







Chills brave words blogspot